Behold the Dreamers: A Novel



A compulsively readable debut novel about marriage, immigration, class, race, and the trapdoors in the American Dream—the unforgettable story of a young Cameroonian couple making a new life in New York just as the Great Recession upends the economy

Jende Jonga, a Cameroonian immigrant living in Harlem, has come to the United States to provide a better life for himself, his wife, Neni, and their six-year-old son. In the fall of 2007, Jende can hardly believe his luck when he lands a job as a…”

Behold The Dreamers

ISBN 10 : 9780812998498
ISBN 13 : 0812998499

Longlisted for a PEN Open Book Award • A compulsively readable debut novel about marriage, immigration, class, race, and the trapdoors in the American Dream—the unforgettable s..

Behold The Dreamers

ISBN 10 : 9780008158132
ISBN 13 : 0008158134

A NEW YORK TIMES BOOK OF THE YEAR AN OBSERVER BOOK OF THE YEAR A powerful and timely story of marriage, class, race and the pursuit of the American Dream. Behold the Dreamers is a ..

Behold The Dreamers

ISBN 10 : 0812989848
ISBN 13 : 9780812989847

..

Behold The Dreamers

ISBN 10 : 0008158142
ISBN 13 : 9780008158149

For fans of AMERICANAH and THE NAMESAKE comes a debut novel about an immigrant couple striving to get ahead as the Great Recession hits home. With profound empathy, keen insight, a..

Mount Pleasant

ISBN 10 : 1250118417
ISBN 13 : 9781250118417

In Cameroon in 1931, Sara is taken from her family and brought to Mount Pleasant as a gift for Sultan Njoya, the Bamum leader cast into exile by French colonialists, when she is ju..

Kitchens Of The Great Midwest

ISBN 10 : 1784295701
ISBN 13 : 9781784295707

Who is Eva Thorvald? To her single father, a chef, she's a pint-sized recipe tester and the love of his life. To the chilli chowdown contestants of Cook County, Illinois, she's a f..

Enrique S Journey

ISBN 10 : 1588366022
ISBN 13 : 9781588366023

An astonishing story that puts a human face on the ongoing debate about immigration reform in the United States, now updated with a new Epilogue and Afterword, photos of Enrique an..

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *